"But what about meeee!" Rant post from a musician

I’m probably being incredibly unfair and stupid by posting this but I’m madly frustrated. I saw the Suno segment wes did and I was blown away. Listening to Wes being so happy about being able to create music, I’m so glad he got to experience that. That feeling has until now been limited to people lucky enough to be born with genes that allowed them to compose. And now of course a number of musicians are upset going “What about meee!” and wants to shut it down and it drives me up the wall even more than the artists did because these are people I usually identify with. Hell, we likely share more genes than we do with random people so we’re kind of family in that sense.

I started playing melodies on the piano when I was 2 years old. The violin at 8 without instruction, I was literally alone in my mom’s bedroom. All I has was the striped lines showing where I should put my fingers. It took me 5 minutes then I was playing twinkle twinkle and several other (albeit simple) melodies. Three of my grandparents played, I was just lucky. I’ve learned a ton of instruments since then, I recently learned how to play the oboe in a little over an hour, I don’t have the lip strength for it or access to an instrument to go deeper with it. I can play more instruments than I can count (because where do you draw the line), I’m a musician in my soul through and through. I can compose music in my mind and hear it like it’s actually playing. I want others to be able to do something similar. I want the world to have more music. If this lets people who aren’t gifted create their own music then that’s a blessing. Why should we be the only ones allowed to do that, because we were born genetically lucky? “Fuck you I’ve got mine?”